Finding an Emotional Foundation

There is no way that the sight and sound of my son wouldn’t trigger the pain of knowing that a six-year-old child and his three-year-old brother were not given the opportunity to develop and grow.  If I could upload a picture of our student, taken the day before the tragic event, I would.  It would break anyone’s heart. 

But, it is my son that carries the key to my emotional future.  And here, as I look at this picture, I am reminded of how contemplative he is.   How much do I know about what is going on in his head?   The price of self-absorption is my child’s chance to develop and grow to his or her potential.  How much of my work robs us of our relationship? 

Leave a Reply

